What game should I play if I am bored?

What game should I play if I am bored?


If you are new to the Borderlands franchise and just purchased one of those awesome Borderlands bundles that contain every game in the series, you are probably wondering, "In which order should I play Borderlands?" In this guide, we will provide you with the best order to have an enjoyable experience. You can choose to play the games in order of the timeline or in the order they were released. Each game has a self-contained story, so you don't necessarily need to have played any of the other games in the franchise. However, we will provide our recommendation for the optimal order.

1. Borderlands (Enhanced Edition)

The first game in the series, Borderlands, is where it all started. This game not only introduced the looter-shooter genre but also set the foundation for the overall story. By playing Borderlands, you will be introduced to a cast of characters that will follow you throughout the series. Keep in mind that the gameplay and introduction in this game may feel a bit slower compared to some modern games, as it was released before certain game mechanics became common.

2. Borderlands 2

While you technically could play Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel as your second game, it is actually the third main Borderlands game to be released. Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel takes place between Borderlands 1 and 2. However, upon completing the game, you will be shown a cinematic that takes place after the ending of Borderlands 2, which can be confusing. Therefore, we recommend playing Borderlands 2 first and then experiencing Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel.

Borderlands 2 also has some DLCs that take place after the main story campaign. While they may have mild spoilers for the main game, it is recommended to save the Commander Lilith DLC for last, as it directly leads into Borderlands 3.

3. Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel is technically considered Borderlands 2.5. In this game, you will go back in time a bit and play as the villains from Borderlands 2. The RPG elements in this game are more prevalent, and you will start unlocking things quicker compared to the previous games. This game provides additional context and backstory to the events of Borderlands 2.

4. Tales From The Borderlands

Tales From The Borderlands is a spin-off game that deviates from the typical shooter gameplay and instead offers an interactive story experience. It takes place after the events of Borderlands 2 and introduces both familiar and new characters that will appear in future games. This game offers a unique perspective on the Borderlands universe and expands the overall story.

5. Commander Lilith and the Fight for Sanctuary

Borderlands 2 received a DLC called "Commander Lilith and the Fight for Sanctuary" seven years after its release, just ahead of the launch of Borderlands 3. This DLC sets up the events of Borderlands 3 and bridges the gap between the two games. It is recommended to play this DLC after completing Borderlands 2 and before moving on to Borderlands 3.

6. Borderlands 3

Borderlands 3 is the latest game in the main series. It is recommended to end your Borderlands marathon with this game, as it offers the most modern version of gameplay and controls. If you start with this game and then play the previous installments, you may find the controls to be a bit sluggish in comparison. Borderlands 3 continues the story from its predecessors and provides a satisfying conclusion to the main narrative arc.

7. New Tales From The Borderlands

New Tales From The Borderlands is another spin-off game that takes place after the events of Borderlands 3. Like the original Tales From The Borderlands, this game focuses on interactive storytelling rather than traditional shooter gameplay. It expands upon the events of Borderlands 3 and delves deeper into the characters and world of the Borderlands universe.

What about Tiny Tina's Wonderlands?

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands is a game that has its roots in the Borderlands franchise but takes its own unique direction. From a story standpoint, the game is set after the events of the Borderlands 2 DLC called Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep. However, the story is not directly connected to the main Borderlands series. Technically, Tiny Tina's Wonderlands is made after Borderlands 3 and introduces new gameplay mechanics and features. It offers a fresh take on the Borderlands formula and provides a new and exciting experience for fans of the franchise.

In conclusion, the recommended order to play the Borderlands games for an enjoyable experience is as follows: Borderlands (Enhanced Edition), Borderlands 2, Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel, Tales From The Borderlands, Commander Lilith and the Fight for Sanctuary DLC, Borderlands 3, and finally, New Tales From The Borderlands. Remember to have fun and immerse yourself in the unique world of Borderlands as you embark on your gaming journey!